McAfee Site Advisor HELP PLEASE?

Posted by admin on March 7th, 2010 and filed under or site advisor |

Everytime I go to surfthechannel.com, this comes up:
When we browsed this site, it made unathorized changes to our test PC.

I never had this problem when I went on this website. What does it all mean?

Then under that, it says either Read Site report or Add to approved sites.

And then to upgrade to this this and that.

I wouldnt go there again as I just checked it and got the red warning from site advisor. Untill they fix it I wouldnt use it. Every time I have gone against that warning I have something to dig out of my regystry or some file, and even running problems. I Like Mcafees and trust the warning. its been good to me for 3 or 4 years. Before that I used Nortons, and had many problems that no longer bother my computer. It’s good measure to pay heed to the warning. But if you really like the site call Mcafes and they will maybe help the people who run the site so you can use it. Most people dont want something on their site that can and will corrupt a surfer. They want you to use site. If nothing else ask Mcafees for the number to the web site so you can tell someone there is a problem. Hope this is help to you. If you really want to use site, (and it does look like a good site from a glance) you should persue making it safe.

4 Responses

  1. Scuba Steve Says:

    This most likely means that the website contains adware or spyware, which is downloaded without notifying you, or hidden as a part of something else the website requires you to download.

    Adware and spyware can slow down your PC. Many people don’t even realize they have it, and continue to get more and more until their PC slows to a crawl. I would suggest avoiding that website if possible.
    References :

  2. Blackened Says:

    it means that either the website you visited was at one time was either infected with a virus by a third party, or the site’s authors purposely infected it…in either case, the website made use of a exploit to make changes to the their test pc which could include installing viruses or other malicious software. So, what that means for you is that this website could potentially still harbor exploits that could compomise your computer’s security. That said, infections happen to the best known sites on the internet, but in the end it boils down to whether you trust the website.
    References :

  3. Scorpio Says:

    Mcafee siteadvisor protect ur pc from dangerous web links…the site u were browsing is linked with some virus related web site, that’s why mcafee warned u and block the site. but if u want to go to the site, just click on "Override this Warning" and put ur "Disable protected mood" password which was created when siteadvisor installed. but its ur risk…site advisor did its job sincerelyy…
    References :
    My experience…

  4. duffysclub Says:

    I wouldnt go there again as I just checked it and got the red warning from site advisor. Untill they fix it I wouldnt use it. Every time I have gone against that warning I have something to dig out of my regystry or some file, and even running problems. I Like Mcafees and trust the warning. its been good to me for 3 or 4 years. Before that I used Nortons, and had many problems that no longer bother my computer. It’s good measure to pay heed to the warning. But if you really like the site call Mcafes and they will maybe help the people who run the site so you can use it. Most people dont want something on their site that can and will corrupt a surfer. They want you to use site. If nothing else ask Mcafees for the number to the web site so you can tell someone there is a problem. Hope this is help to you. If you really want to use site, (and it does look like a good site from a glance) you should persue making it safe.
    References :

Leave a Comment

Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.